National Cancer Institute Home
skip navigation Main

Getting Started

Teacher's Guide About NIH and NCI
glossary | map |  contact 
Teacher's Guide hand using a mouse

BSCS Development Team

Paul Beardsley, Co-Principal Investigator
Mark Bloom, Co-Principal Investigator
Brooke Bourdélat-Parks, Curriculum Developer
Anne Westbrook, Curriculum Developer
Rebecca Kruse, Evaluator
Molly Stuhlsatz, Evaluator
Jon Adams, Project Assistant
Annette Plemmons, Production Manager
Stacey Luce, Production Coordinator
Chris Moraine, Production Specialist

BSCS Administrative Staff

Richard Cardullo, Chair, Board of Directors;
University of California, Riverside
Janet Carlson, Executive Director
Pam Van Scotter, Associate Director

National Institutes of Health

Tony Beck, National Center for Research Resources
Irene Eckstrand, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Shefa Gordon, National Eye Institute
Richard Hodes, National Institute on Aging
Donna Kerrigan, National Cancer Institute
David Morens, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Ward Odenwald, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Dina Paltoo, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Cathrine Sasek, National Institute on Drug Abuse
Robert Angerer and Lawrence Tabak, National Institute
of Dental and Craniofacial Research
Bruce Fuchs, Office of Science Education
Lisa Strauss, Office of Science Education
David Vannier, Office of Science Education
Cindy Allen, Office of Science Education

Red Hill Studios

Bob Hone, Creative Director
Sharon Hibbert, Senior Producer
Wendy Hari, Producer
Charlie Brown, Senior Programmer
Brent Tam, Associate Producer
Steve McEntee, Designer/Art Director
Dave Gonzalez, Programmer
John Hoffsis, Programmer

Advisory Committee

Lise Bofinger, Concord High School, Concord, NH
David Hillis, University of Texas at Austin
Randolph Nesse, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Martin Shields, Pascack Hills High School, Montvale, NJ
John Spengler, Pine Creek High School, Colorado Springs, CO
Marta Wayne, University of Florida, Gainesville

Design Team

Laura Landweber, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ
Matthew Lisy, Westhill High School, Stamford, CT
Teri Mitton, Highland High School, Pocatello, ID
Margaret Riley, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Randy Von Smith, The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, ME
John Spengler, Pine Creek High School, Colorado Springs, CO

Field-Test Teachers

Allison Aclufi, Helen Bernstein High School, Hollywood, CA
Melissa Barker, Alexander Dawson School, Lafayette, CO
David Brock, Roland Park Country School, Baltimore, MD
Arnel Dela Cruz, East Gadsden High School, Havana, FL
KD Davenport, Central High School, Philadelphia, PA
MarLane Dows, Central High, Baton Rouge, LA
Henry Drexler, Pius XI High School, Milwaukee, WI
Kimberly Houtz, Marysville High School, Marysville, KS
Mario Patino, Kamehameha Schools–Hawai‘i, Kea‘au, HI
Jodie Spitze, Kent-Meridian High School, Kent, WA
Angelique Sykes, Dunbar Pre-Engineering High School, Washington, DC
Deborah Valdez, Kerr High School, Houston, TX


Henry Harpending, Distinguished Professor and Thomas
Chair, University of Utah
Dan Hartl, Higgins Professor of Biology, Harvard University
Donna Krasnewich, Program Director, National Institute of
General Medical Sciences
Jonathan C. Goldsmith, Deputy Chief, Blood Diseases Branch,
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
David Lipman, Director, National Center for Biotechnology Information
Mark Lipsitch, Professor of Epidemiology, Harvard University
Elena Lozovsky, Principal Staff Scientist, Department of
Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University
Trudy Mackay, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished
University Professor of Genetics and Associate Member of
Entomology, North Carolina State University
Steve Stearns, Edward P. Bass Professor of Ecology and
Evolutionary Biology, Yale University
Sarah Tishkoff, David and Lyn Silfen University Associate
Professor, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Cover: Lydia V. Kibiuk, Medical Illustrator, Medical Arts and Photography Branch, National Institutes of Health

This material is based on work supported by the National Institutes of Health under Contract No. HHSN263200800031C. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the view of the funding agency.

Copyright © 2011 by BSCS. All rights reserved. You have the permission of BSCS to reproduce items in this supplement for your classroom use and educational purposes. The copyright on this supplement, however, does not cover reproduction of these items for any other use. For permission and other rights under this copyright, please contact BSCS, 5415 Mark Dabling Blvd., Colorado Springs, CO 80918-3842.

Please contact the NIH Office of Science Education with questions about this supplement at scied@mail.nih.gov.

BSCS logo NIH Logo DHHS Logo

*PDF files require Adobe Acrobat